Young Careerist

Cultivating Leadership & ConfidenceYoung Careerist logo

The Virginia Allan Young Careerist Program (YC) was founded in 1964 by BPW National President Virginia Allan in order to recognize the professional, personal and political achievements of young professional women and men.

Participants, both BPW and prospective members, compete to represent BPW on the Local and State level by delivering a prepared 4-minute speech, interviewing with judges, and preparing a biographical statement and application.

BPW/FL has a long list of former Young Careerist participants and representatives who, by their participation, have developed a greater sense of self-esteem, and have gone on to more rewarding and fulfilling careers and have demonstrated themselves as outstanding leaders in their communities.

This program recognizes and celebrates the accomplishments of young women and men between the ages of 21 and 35 for their endeavors at bettering themselves and others, professionally, personally and politically. The Young Careerist Program is about mentoring and building self-esteem and confidence. It is about giving recognition and acceptance and the celebration to all participants.

YC Program Details

The Young Careerist Competition is held annually during the BPW/FL State Conference.

The 2017 State Conference will be held June 22-24, 2017, at:
Renaissance Vinoy Resort & Golf Club
501 5th Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701

In the Young Careerist Program, you can:

  • Be recognized for your accomplishments and service in your profession and community.
  • Network with successful women and men in the professional and business work.
  • Improve your self-confidence and leadership skills.
  • Develop friendships and a support network.

To be eligible, a participant must:

  • Be between the ages of 21 and 35 (inclusive by July 31st following the first competition in which she/he participates).
  • Be or have been employed in business (includes self-employed) or the professions with at least one year of full-time work experience in her/his career area.
  • Be living, working or training or continuing her/his education in the area served by the sponsoring local organization conducting the program.
  • Understand and support the BPW/FL mission, vision and legislative platform. Young Careerists must review the legislative platform and pledge they will not speak against platform items in their capacities as Young Careerist representatives, if selected.
  • Be a member of BPW/FL in good standing.

The YC competition consists of:

  • Panel interview by BPW members
  • Speak Off – see criteria below

Criteria for the Young Careerist Speech:

  • Speeches are to be four minutes in length. No props are allowed, and all Young Careerist representatives will be required to remain at the podium when speaking.
  • Paperwork must be postmarked or e-mailed by April 30, 2017. No changes can be made after the paperwork is submitted.

2017 YC Speak Off Questions

  1. As a Young Careerist and a young voter, how do you feel about the comment “I know that he/she doesn’t have international or diplomatic expertise but he/she will learn on the job”?  Should a presidential candidate have a particular type of expertise or background to deal with the worldwide issues that confront our nation?
  2. Social media has had a definitive impact on how information is delivered to individuals and to the masses. What can a Young Careerist do to protect her reputation or fight untruths that may be published?
  3. As a Young Careerist tell us why the Equal Rights Amendment is still relevant and important to the your generation.
  4. Choose a decade in history and explain how a  particular change in that era made an impact on working women today and what impact it will have on the future.
  5. If you were to mentor a young girl, how would you make a positive impact on her future?

YC Hall of Fame

2016 Liz Illgen, BPW/St. Petersburg-Pinellas
2015 Dr. Kari Morgenstein, BPW/Miami
2014 Jacquelin Elliott
2012 Nikole Riley
2011 Pye Young, BPW/St. Petersburg-Pinellas
2010 Dara Cooley, BPW/Tampa Bay
2009 Sarah Taurman, BPW/Tampa Bay
2008 Sarah Deustchmann, BPW/Tampa Bay
2002 Alizza Punzalan-Randle, BPW/St. Petersburg-Pinellas
1998 Tami Simms, BPW/St. Petersburg-Pinellas
1988 Laura K. Hoeft, BPW/Englewood
1987 Karen Klock
1986 Raquel Mattas, BPW/Downtown Luncheon District 11
1985 Christina Mazzara, BPW/Pompano Beach
1984 Kathleen Ann Kearney
1983 Ann Keaney, BPW/FL District 10
1982 Susan Hamilton, BPW/Jacksonville
1980 Eileen Maloney, BPW/FL District 11
1979 Linda Price, BPW/Ft. Pierce
1978 Maureen Shea, BPW/FL District 10
1977 Mary Giddens, BPW/Pionette of Lakeland
1975 Louise Murphy, BPW/Deland
1974 Elizabeth Ann Winnie, BPW/Gainesville
1973 Joy Weatherington, BPW/Tallahassee
1971 Judy Ball, BPW/Temple Terrace
1970 Theresa Lembo
1968 Janet Burnside, BPW/Tampa

Learn more about BPW/FL and how membership can help you

Recent Blog Posts

BPW/FL Launches BPWInsider eZine
BPW/FL celebrated Women's History Month with the launch of the first issue of BPW Insider, an eZine complement to the Florida Business Woman Magazine. The monthly eZine will feature annual state conference information, local organizations (LO) goings-on, reminders, deadlines and helpful tips for the workplace. [more]
Florida Federation of Business & Professional Women’s Clubs Announces 2017-18 Executive Committee
The Florida Federation of Business & Professional Women's Clubs, Inc. (BPW/FL), one of the oldest organizations for working women, announces its 2017-2018 Executive Committee. Alizza Punzalan-Randle, community engagement manager for Johns Hopkins All Children's Hospital, was named President of BPW/FL. She is a 15-year member of BPW and [more]
2017 Glass Ceiling Award: Major Sabrina Maxwell
Established in 1991, the Glass Ceiling Award is presented by the state president to those women who have successfully broken through the barrier of advancement within their profession or organization, enabling them to reach the management level positions previously barred to working women. The recipient of the 2017 Glass Ceiling [more]